Best answer: Who was the third president of Indian National Congress?

When was Gandhiji elected Congress president?

In protest, a number of leaders, Chittaranjan Das, Annie Besant, and Motilal Nehru, resigned to set up the Swaraj Party. The Khilafat movement collapsed and Congress was split. With the help of the moderate group led by Gokhale, in 1924 Gandhi became president of Congress.

Who was never president of Indian National Congress?

The correct answer is Bal Gangadhar Tilak.

Who was the president of Congress in 1942?

INC Sessions

Session Place President
1st Session Bombay Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee
2nd Session Calcutta Shri Dadabhai Naoroji
3rd Session Madras Badruddin Tyabji
4th Session Allahabad George Yule

Who was Congress president 1910?

Along with Allan Octavian Hume he was a founder of the Indian National Congress and served as its president in 1889 and 1910.

Who is founder of Congress?

The president of the party has effectively been the party’s national leader, head of the party’s organisation, head of the Working Committee, the chief spokesman, and all chief Congress committees. After the party’s foundation in December 1885, Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee became its first president.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Is Bangladesh part of India?

Who was called Grand Old Man of India?

Dadabhai Naoroji, (4 September 1825 – 30 June 1917) also known as the “Grand Old Man of India” and “Unofficial Ambassador of India”, was an Indian political leader, merchant, scholar and writer who was a Liberal Party Member of Parliament in the United Kingdom House of Commons between 1892 and 1895 and the first Asian …

How many times Mahatma Gandhi was President of Indian National Congress?

Only once in 1924 at the Belgaum conference of Indian National Congress. He was succeeded by Sarojini Naidu as the next congress president.

Who was the first and only female president of India so far?

Chief Justice of India K. G. Balakrishnan administering the oath of office to new President Pratibha Patil. December 19, 1934, is the 12th President of India. She is the first woman and the first Maharashtrian to hold this post.

When did Nehru became the president of Indian National Congress?

Nehru assumed the presidency of the Congress party during the Lahore session on 29 December 1929 and introduced a successful resolution calling for complete independence.

Where was the 1931 session of Indian National Congress held?

The correct answer is Karachi. The session of the Indian National Congress was held at Karachi in 1931. The Karachi session was presided by Sardar Patel.

When was the Indian National Congress formed?

On 28 December 1885, the Indian National Congress was founded at Gokuldas Tejpal Sanskrit College in Bombay, with 72 delegates in attendance. Hume assumed office as the General Secretary, and Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee of Calcutta was elected president.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Why trains are not starting in India?

Who is the president of Congress in 1938?

The Indian National Congress met at Haripura during 19 to 22 February 1938, under the presidency of Subhas Chandra Bose; he was elected President of the Haripura Congress Session in 1938.