What is the basic nature of Indian federal system?

Federalism is part of the basic structure of the Indian constitution which cannot be altered or destroyed through constitutional amendments under the constituent powers of the Parliament without undergoing judicial review by the Supreme Court.

What is the basic nature of federal system?

The Basic principle of federalism is that legislative, executive and financial authority is split between the centre and states not by law gone along the centre but the constitution itself. Indian Constitution also defines the powers between the Chief Legislature and also the Judiciary.

What is the nature of an Indian federal system?

The Indian Constitution is both federal & unitary in nature as it is a combination of federal & unitary features. In the federal set-up, there is a two-tier government with well-assigned powers & the functions of all the parts.

What is the nature of Indian federal system Mcq?

India is a federal government and there is three-tier system of power sharing with central government, state government and local self government. It is a union of states and not a federation.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Frequent question: How much does a city bus cost in India?

What are the basic features of Indian federalism?

What are the main features/characteristics of Indian Federalism? Some features are: (1) Clear division of powers between the Centre and the states, (2) Independent Judiciary, (3) Bicameral Legislature, (4) Dual government polity, (5) Supremacy of constitution.

What are the basic nature of Indian federal system Union List State list and Concurrent list?

8.1.3 Division of Powers

The Union List consists of 97 subjects of national importance such as Defence, Railways, Post and Telegraph, etc. The State List consists of 66 subjects of local interest such as Public Health, Police etc. The Concurrent List has 47 subjects important to both the Union and the State.

What are the basic features of Indian Constitution?

Features of Indian Constitution

  • Lengthiest constitution. …
  • Drawn from Different Sources. …
  • Federal System and Unitary Features. …
  • Parliamentary Form of Government. …
  • Parliamentary Sovereignty and Judicial Supremacy. …
  • Independent and Integrated Judicial System. …
  • Directive Principles. …
  • Rigid and Flexible.

What is called federalism?

Federalism is a system of government in which the power is divided between a central authority and various constituent units of the country. Usually, a federation has two levels of government. One is the government for the entire country that is usually responsible for a few subjects of common national interest.

What are the nature of constitution?

A constitution establishes government based on the rule of law and which is limited by law. It thus provides a legal basis for Governmental operations and makes constitutional government possible. It therefore prevents anarch or dictatorial government which knows no legal bounds. A constitution acts like peace treaty.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Which is the safest hatchback car in India?

Why India is called federal country?

India is called a federal country because every state and country territories are free to make their own decisions,irrespective of central revenue policies . Its there own will to accept a policy or not. They can make their own laws. They are not abide to follow central government.

What is the distinguishing feature of a federal government?

National government gives some powers to the provincial government. Power is distributed among the legislature, executive and judiciary.

Which of the following is true about Indian federalism?

India has a federalism based on USA. … India has the federal structure which has two levels i.e. Centre and the states. 3. Federalism in India is practiced but the term Federal is not used in the Constitution.

Which of the following is a federal government?

Examples of a federation or federal province or state include Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Brazil, Canada, Germany, India, Malaysia, Mexico, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Russia, Switzerland, and United States.